NACRW Excellence Award Information

The deadline for nominees to be considered for 2020 is December 1, 2019.


The North American Chemical Residue Workshop Excellence Award was established in 2015. This annual award will allow NACRW to recognize achievement relevant to the field of chemical residue analysis. In addition, this award will help solidify NACRW as a scientific community with reach beyond the workshop itself. As well, this award can help to attract top scientists from around the world into the NACRW community.

Award Information

Purpose: To recognize scientists who have made impactful contributions relevant to chemical residue analysis. 

Eligibility: NACRW Excellence Awards are given to scientists responsible for important contributions to chemical residue analysis. Contributions can be in the form of lifetime achievement, specific technique or methodology development or impact of research findings. 

Selection Criteria:  

  • Scientific impact to the chemical residue community
  • Lifetime scientific achievements including milestone discoveries
  • Highly influential publications (i.e. How applicable … to work presented at NACRW)
  • Significance of the research findings
  • Innovation
  • Scientific leadership
  • Lifetime scientific contributions / presentations at NACRW meetings

The Award: The award will consist of the following:  

  • Engraved Award provided by NACRW
  • Honorarium of $4,000 (USD) provided by NACRW
  • Free workshop registration (award year) provided by NACRW
  • Award and Oral Presentation by Awardee in workshop program (award year)

Awardee Selection: The NACRW Excellence Awards committee is responsible for selection of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd candidates for the Award from all those nominated.  The final choice will be made by the NACRW Board from the three candidates selected by the Awards committee. 

Submit your nomination: 

The nomination process simply entails the nominator(s) to list the name of the nominee(s) with a bullet point description of the main accomplishment(s) and/or justification(s) for the award in accordance with the selection criteria and then email the nomination to Teri Besse ( or Brad Barrett (   

Michael Story accepting the 2019 Excellence Award

Michael Story accepting the 2019 Excellence Award

Past NACRW EXcellence award RECIPIENTS


Dr. Michelangelo Anastassiades, CVUA-Stuttgart, Germany

Dr. Steven J. Lehotay, USDA-ARS, Wyndmoor, PA, USA


Dr. André de Kok, NVWA, Wageningen, The Netherlands


Dr. Harold McNair, Department of Chemistry, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg VA


Dr. Janusz Pawliszyn, Canada Research Chair, Department of Chemistry, University of Waterloo,

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada


Bob Finnigan and Michael Story